Posted by: allthingsnewstore | November 9, 2011

Home School Association

When I first began to home school, I felt like a fish out of water.  I had so many doubts, fears and concerns. Do I know enough to make it work? Am I ruining my kids’ lives? How do we do Gym Class? What if there is something I don’t know? What about socializing??  How will I incorporate that into their day?

But as I forged forward, I found the help of a local Home School Association, TEACHers (The Elkhart Area Homeschool Association).  They have been wonderful! Through the home school association, I have been able to find the support and help that I need. They offer a group gym class. They have group field trips and I am able to talk with other home school moms to glean ideas and support. The kids have a chance to socialize and to gain the advantages that come from being part of a home school association.

Through the home school association we have joined, my daughter was able to have a real graduation ceremony, complete with a guest speaker (Congressional Candidate: Jackie Walorksi, whom we dearly love!) and felt that the close to her homeschooling years was complete. My daughter, Jacqui, was able to enjoy the benefits of a home school eduction and still be blessed with the benefits of good friends and a great graduation ceremony!

I recommend a home school association for anyone who is homeschooling. Even if you only participate in some of what they have available, the benefits are so worthwhile. A quick Google search will bring up a plethora of information on home school associations, from national to local.  A few great examples are:

Home School Association .com (www.home-school-association.com) This is a members-only site that is packed full of ebooks, free curricula, curriculum reviews, and a searchable database.

The Home School Legal Defence Association (www.hslda.orgThis is a wonderful nonprofit advocacy organization established to defend and advance the constitutional right of parents to direct the education of their children and to
protect family freedoms.

State Home School Associations – you will find many state and local home school association to connect with and become a part of as you grow your home school support system.

I also highly recommend Twitter as a resource.  I have several friends on Twitter that I follow and find many useful ideas and pertinent information from.

In all of you searches for a good Home School Association, be sure to stop by our store at www.allthingsnewstore.com to get the latest resources available through Alpha Omega Publications and Switched on Schoolhouse!


Leave a comment

Categories