Posted by: allthingsnewstore | December 3, 2011

O the Weather Outside is Frightful…

Well, it is here… the snow has begun to fall.  They called for 1 -4 inches and we got about 7!  Ahhh… but how it gets me in the mood for Christmas!  And it held off during the Black Friday shopping… so we didn’t have to deal with that!

My daughter, Jacqui, was at school taking night classes. She had driven the Chrysler Convertible… and that was no match for the 7″ of snow… so like a good Mom… I ventured out to get her.  And what an adventure! What normally takes 45 minutes to drive now took almost 2 hour!!  The snow was flying so hard you could not see the road more than 10 feet in front of you.  And forget the brights!  My goodness! That’ll blind ya!

On the main roads, everyone was going 20 MPH.  Then I get to Shimmel Rd… about a 10 mile stretch of country road.  Yikes!  Being that the college is on that road, there were a number of vehicles, however. I thoguht, “O good!  That will help!”  But, no… There was a line up of vehicles all struggling to get up the hills!  The car directly in front of me was a little sports car that was struggling the most! It was fish tailing back and forth all the way up and all the way down each hill.  I stayed back and waited for her to get to the top of each hill before I would venture, lest I get stuck with her! I found that down-shifting is my friend!

But alas, I made it!  I picked my daughter up safely and we ventured home. By this time, the traffic was off of Shimmel Rd and it was very hard to see where the next hill was. We finally made it safely to the main roads where it was a little better (but not much). We’re driving along and my daughter says, “Is that lightning??”  Every few seconds, the sky would light up with blue light! Then we saw it… there was a downed power line.  It was AWESOME!  It would flash bright blue and make these cool sounds.

We slowed down to check it out and then saw the fire it had started in the woods behind the house.  Very cool! (No one was hurt and the house was safe… so it was still cool) We finally made it home safely.

Ok…so the next day I drove Jacqui to school since she had left her car there during the snow storm. I went in to use the facilities and got to meet her friends. They were asking me if I was scared driving in the snow storm. I said no, I was having fun watching the person in the sports car in front of me fish-tailng all over on the hills. We chatted for a moment and I left. As I was walking out, this blonde lady at the table behind them stares me down with this evil look. I smiled and thought ,”Wow, what’s your problem?”. I was all the way to my car before I realized … O no! I wonder if she was the one in the sports car!  OOPS!  Another foot-in-mouth moment…  😦
Of course, the next day is always beautiful with a fresh snow.
So… in honor of this heoric night, I have put my favorite Christmas Decoration on sale!   It is Vintage Ceramic Santa Claus pulling a sleeping Reindeer on a Sleigh. This figurine is so adorable!  We have it listed right now at 50% OFF! And FREE SHIPPING to boot! In addition to that, we have a store-wide 10% off sale happening through Christmas. You’ll find all sorts of vintage and hard to find books and collectibles.  And we’ll be adding more stock this weekend! Can’t wait to share more with you! See you soon at: www.allthingsnewstore.com!

Leave a comment

Categories